Key facts
- OpenAI said the program would coordinate with utilities on how much power facilities could temporarily stop using and how fast.
- OpenAI said it is exploring on-site batteries and power generation to help manage demand at its facilities.
- Georgia Power projected about $950 million in annual customer savings from 2029, covering its wider large-customer portfolio, not just OpenAI.
- OpenAI said it must cover the full infrastructure costs to serve its Georgia facility rather than passing them to existing customers.
- Electricity delivery to the planned 3.2-gigawatt Georgia facility is scheduled to begin in 2028 and expand in phases through 2032.
- OpenAI has not disclosed binding demand-reduction commitments for facilities other than the Georgia project.
OpenAI announced its Grid Protectors Program on November 2, 2026, a national initiative under which future AI facilities would reduce electricity consumption during grid emergencies and periods of high demand. The company said it would coordinate with utility companies to set how much power a facility could temporarily stop using, how quickly it could respond and for how long, and that it is exploring on-site batteries and power generation.
In its announcement, OpenAI said: "Families and small businesses should not be asked to subsidize a compute campus's electricity needs." The program addresses concerns that power-hungry AI facilities raise electricity bills for nearby residents.
OpenAI pointed to a planned facility in Effingham County, Georgia, as the first example. It has signed a 25-year agreement with Georgia Power covering approximately 3,200 megawatts of demand, with up to 1,000 megawatts available for temporary reductions during high-demand periods. Under the approved agreement, OpenAI must cover the full infrastructure costs to serve the facility rather than passing them to existing customers.
Georgia Power projects approximately $950 million in annual customer savings beginning in 2029, equivalent to at least $15 per month for a typical residential customer. Those estimates cover the utility's broader portfolio of large electricity customers and expected growth, not just OpenAI's project. The Georgia facility is still under development and the savings remain projections. Electricity delivery to the planned 3.2-gigawatt facility is scheduled to begin in 2028 and expand in phases through 2032.
OpenAI has not disclosed binding demand-reduction commitments for other facilities under the national program, which the company described as a framework with individual agreements still to be negotiated.
The announcement also follows reporting by Axios that OpenAI is preparing a post-midterm policy and public relations campaign that includes rebranding data centers as "AI compute campuses." An OpenAI spokesperson confirmed the naming strategy to Business Insider, arguing the term better reflects the facilities' role in computing, energy infrastructure and skilled employment. The Grid Protectors announcement repeatedly uses "compute campuses" and occasionally the term "data centers."
Opposition to AI infrastructure projects has become a political issue across the United States. Pennsylvania introduced new restrictions on large data centers in August, including provisions designed to protect residents from higher electricity costs. OpenAI and six other major technology companies also signed a White House pledge in March to pay for the electricity and grid upgrades their AI projects require.
